India, Philippines ink four pacts, resolve to fight terrorism

India, Philippines ink four pacts, resolve to fight terrorism

Prime Minister Modi also called for concerted efforts by countries of region to deal with terrorism and extremism.

The Prime Minister said that it was time for the ASEAN nations to jointly address the challenge of terrorism.

Modi will address the Asean-India and East Asia summits on Tuesday and it is to be seen whether he touches upon the sensitive issue. "We had extensive discussions on enhancing India-Philippines bilateral cooperation especially in trade, business and culture", Modi tweeted after the first visit by an Indian PM to Philippines in 36 years.

It was reported that close to seven million - or two-thirds of about 10 million worldwide migrants living and working in Asean - come from within the region. China claims sovereignty over nearly all of the South China Sea, a huge source of hydrocarbons.

"President Duterte had several bilateral meetings last night, including with Japan, ROK [Republic of Korea/South Korea], India, and Russia", DFA spokesperson Robespierre Bolivar said in a statement.

Prime Minister Modi also talked about shared values and common destiny between India and ASEAN.

"We look forward to the East Asia Summit attaining greater salience in years to come".

He said the proposal was made during the ASEAN Plus Three Summit here today, attended by ASEAN leaders, South Korean President Moon Jae-in, Chinese Prime Minister Le Keqiang and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Brunei are the members of the ASEAN.

The ASEAN region along with India comprises combined population of 1.85 billion people, which is one fourth of the global population and their combined GDP has been estimated at over $3.8 trillion.

Prime Minister Modi also participated at a meeting of leaders of Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP). The participating members of the 12th East Asia Summit are Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, the United States and Vietnam.

Related Articles