Penn State's Saquon Barkley wins Silver Football award

Penn State's Saquon Barkley wins Silver Football award

He is the fifth player since the award's inception in 1924 to claim the honor twice, joining the elite list of Minnesota's Paul Giel (1952-53), Ohio State's Archie Griffin (1973-74), Indiana's Anthony Thompson (1988-89) and Ohio State's Braxton Miller (2012-13). He was chosen over Washington wide receiver Dante Pettis, Iowa State linebacker Joel Lanning and NC State running back Nyheim Hines by a panel of 17 voters and one fan vote.

The Silver Football is handed out by the Chicago Tribune and voted on by Big Ten coaches.

It was announced Wednesday morning by the Louisville Sports Commission.

Penn State coach James Franklin calls it "the run". "But I have coached 23 years in the Pac-12, SEC, ACC, Big 12 and Big Ten and in the NFL". The victor of those awards will be announced this evening. As Franklin mentioned, there are some notable names who have taken home the award, such as Odell Beckham, Jr., Tavon Austin, Christian McCaffrey and, most recently, Jabrill Peppers.

Barkley, a junior from Whitehall, became only the fifth two-time victor of the award since Red Grange won the inaugural award in 1924.Nine of 13 Big Ten coaches voted for Barkley, who also received three second-place votes.

From the Associated Press All-Big Ten team to the Paul Hornung Award that is given to the country's most versatile talent, Barkley has spent December racking up awards and honors despite not being named as a Heisman finalist.

Related Articles