Ponting named Australia's T20I assistant coach

Ponting named Australia's T20I assistant coach

The former captain has extensive experience of the shortest form of the game, captaining his country in the first ever T20 worldwide against New Zealand in 2005, and then leading the side in the first two editions of the ICC World Twenty20 in 2007 and 2009.

The former Australia captain will work under head coach Darren Lehmann, while Troy Cooley and Matthew Mott will help out during the series.

The 43-year-old was recently named head coach of Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League.

Ponting had performed a similar role in February 2017, during the T20 series against Sri Lanka, working alongside Justin Langer and Jason Gillespie.

The trio will fill in as Graeme Hick, David Saker and Brad Haddin head to South Africa ahead of the four-match Test tour starting on March 1 in Durban.

"I'm delighted to be involved with the Australian squad again for what should be a terrific series against England and New Zealand", said Ponting.

"It's very much an assistant's role, Darren is obviously the head coach and hopefully we can work well together", Ponting added.

Ponting said he was looking forward to the opportunity.

He was part of the support staff previous year for a series against Sri Lanka, which finished less than 24 hours before a Test series started away from home against India.

"I seem to spend my whole life around Twenty20 cricket now with commentating on the Big Bash and coaching in the IPL".

He is now enjoying his stint of commentator in the Big Bash League where he is working alongside likes of Mark Waugh, Damien Fleming, and Adam Gilchrist. "The ICC World Twenty20 trophy is the only one that's missing from the trophy cabinet at Cricket Australia and it would be great for us to put that right during the next edition of the tournament on home soil in 2020", he pointed out.

Now ranked seventh in ICC's T20I rankings, Australia haven't had a great time in the shortest format of the game, and the World T20I trophy is the only one they are yet to win.

Related Articles