Bihar BYPOLL: Controversy over Gorakhpur counting process

Bihar BYPOLL: Controversy over Gorakhpur counting process

Counting is on for the Phulpur and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Gorakhpur is the seat that Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath held for five terms.

Latest from Phulpur: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is leading by 14,239, with a total of 1,11,668 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel is second with 97369 votes after 10 rounds of counting.

Meanwhile in Araria Lok Sabha by-election in Bihar, BJP's Pradip Singh is leading with 1,13,169 votes, followed by Rashtriya Janata Dal's (RJD) Sarafaraz Alam with 1,04,190.

The district magistrate in Gorakhpur refused to release the lead numbers in Gorakhpur for a long time and asked accredited journalists to move out of the counting hall. Praveen Nishad is leading by 3700 votes.

However, a large chunk of the Muslim votes, which used to traditionally go to the SP, is expected to go to independent candidate and local strongman Atiq Ahmed this time, helping the BJP. Phulpur bypoll results 2018: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 9924 votes with 87,272 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 77,348 votes after eight round of counting.

Samajwadi Party's Praveen Kumar Nishad has received 44,979 votes.

Both the seats saw poor voting, with Gorakhpur registering 43% and Phulpur a measly 37.39%. The direct fight is between SP, BSP and BJP. But, they have only leaders who make statements.The voters of Mayawatiji have deserted the BSP and have reposed their faith in Modiji, Yogi and BJP. BJP got 82811 votes. SP candidate is ahead with 12,231 votes.

In Bihar's Araria, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress are pitted against the BJP-Janata Dal (United) alliance and it's the first big test for Nitish Kumar after he walked out of the Grand Alliance a year ago to team up with the BJP.

However, as of now, only the initial rounds of counting has been completed, and these are heavily influenced by postal votes.

In Araria, Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate Pradip Kumar Singh is leading over RJD candidate Sarfaraz Alam.

Though it is an early trend, there is an upbeat mood in the National Democratic Alliance camp here.

Related Articles