Five in fray for four Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka

Five in fray for four Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka

Even as nomination papers of the BJP and the Congress candidates for the four Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat were accepted on Tuesday, the drama is far from over as the ruling BJP continued to raise objections over the "no due certificate" presented by one of the Congress candidates.

At a press conference on the sidelines of the ongoing budget session of the state Assembly here, senior Congress leader Karan Singh Dalal said he had filed a complaint with the Returning Officer, demanding nomination papers of Vats be rejected.

The Congress candidates are L. Hanumanthaiah, G.C. Chandrasekhar and Syed Naseer Hussain, and BJP candidate is Rajeev Chandrashekar, who is seeking a second term, as his first term as an Independent member ends on April 2.

BJP, which has enough numbers to elect only eight candidates to Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh, fielded its ninth candidate - Anil Agarwal, who is chairman of HRIT Group of Institutes in Ghaziabad, making the task hard for BSP candidate Bhim Rao Ambedkar, who was hoping to go to Rajya Sabha with the support of SP and Congress MLAs.

In a letter seeking an investigation, Angadi said he was given seven NOCs within 40-50 minutes yesterday and wondered if any verification was carried out.

Earlier, Rathwa said his documents were in order but BJP leaders put pressure on Returning Officer.

"From which party has Narayan Rane filed his nomination?"

The BJP had objected to the validity of a no-dues certificate submitted by Rathwa, a former Union Minister.

Ruling out support to B.M. Farooq of the JD (S) for the third Rajya Sabha seat from the State, the Congress has made a decision to field AICC Spokesperson Syed Naseer Hussain, former Chairman of KUWS&DB G.C. Chandrashekar, and former MLC L. Hanumanthaiah.

Union Railways Minister Piyush Goyal claimed that there were irregularities in the nomination form of Congress leader PK Valera too.

"The objections raised by the BJP during the scrutiny process of our Rajya Sabha candidates lack substance".

The Congress deployed Leader of Opposition in Assembly, Paresh Dhanani, and senior party leader Shaktisinh Gohil to put forward Rathwa's case. "He has also not mentioned serious allegations in his affidavit", Gujarat BJP president Jitu Vaghani said.

Each candidate require 44 votes in the 225 member in the Assembly.

Related Articles